Vijitha Yapa
Online Bookstore
We ship books worldwide

Fiction

Non-Fiction

Sri Lanka

Travel

In Sinhala

New Arrivals

Specialised

Vijitha Yapa Books

Children's

Multimedia

Questions of Travel
Author Michelle de Kretser
ISBN 9781743311783
Publisher Allen & Unwin
Pages 515
Size 155mm X 235mm
Weight 900
Our Price Rs. 2,095.00
A novel of dazzling virtuosity and luminous intelligence that explores our urge to leave home, by a writer previously longlisted for both the Man Booker and Orange prizes whose prose can only be described as 'rich, luxuriant, intense, and gorgeous.' (Anita Desai). When Laura inherits money from the aunt who raised her, she sets off to see the world - alone, 'because two makes one a tourist.' When Ravi's family are devastated by a politically motivated atrocity, he seeks asylum in Sydney. The two meet there at a travel-guide publishing firm. She is a staff writer, living with an elderly Italian lover, and he is a website designer who wants only to make a living and forget about his past. Where do these disparate characters truly belong? With her trademark subtlety, Michelle de Kretser shows us that, in the twenty-first century, they belong wherever they're able to be, home or away. She has written a masterful novel for our time replete with dazzling beauty, uncanny common sense, sharp wit, and a deep knowledge of what makes us tick. It is for readers of Zadie Smith's "On Beauty", Jhumpa Lahiri and Sarah Waters.



Other books by this author

 

Cart
My Shopping Cart
You have 0 item(s) in your cart.
Subtotal Rs. 0.00
News Letter sign-up:
Receive our monthly news flash
About Us
The Vijitha Yapa Group of Companies began in April 1981 when Vijitha Yapa Associates were appointed by Dow Jones & Company Limited of USA to represent them for advertising sales and distribution of their publications as the exclusive agent..  Read more..
Vijitha Yapa Bookshop
130, S de S Jayasinghe Mawatha,
Kohuwala.

Tel: +94 11 2810714
Privacy Policy
All content included on this site, such as text, graphics, logos,
button icons, images, audio clips, digital downloads,
data compilations, and software, is the property of
VIJITHA YAPA or its content suppliers and protected
by Sri Lanka and international copyright laws. Read more..
Copyright © 2003-2019 Vijitha Yapa Associates (Pvt) Ltd. Site by 3CS

Top